Suffragette

Thoughts on the movie Suffragette:

Proverbs 31:8-9:
Open your mouth for the mute, For the rights of all the unfortunate. Open your mouth, judge righteously, And defend the rights of the afflicted and needy.

My husband and I watched the movie Suffragette (a suffragette is a woman seeking the right to vote through organized protest). We enjoyed it for the good acting, suspense and story line. It was refreshing to watch a movie with little profanity, no blasphemy and without sexual references. I would advise that it would be a good watch for the younger generation as well.

I’m always a bit hesitant to believe everything in a movie that claims to be “based on true events”. Although I have not researched all the historical facts of the movie Suffragette, the truth that was revealed in the movie was that we live in a man’s world and that women are still fighting to be recognized as human beings and not made to serve men but to be free. Free to make our own choices without being labeled. Maybe it was also just good to see the ugly truth hidden under ‘civilization’ portrayed on the big screen.

The courage that the women portrayed in the movie was inspirational and their sacrifices were immense. I pray that my husband and I will be able to fight as courageously for what we believe.

My husband summarized the movie with the words…”this is not actually about the vote but about human rights”.

I think it is a good watch, and take your partner along!

Interesting note: New Zealand became the first self-governing country in the world in which women had the right to vote in parliamentary elections, led by the suffragette Kate Sheppard.

Tiana

2 thoughts on “Suffragette

  1. Hi Tiana, because of your recommendation my husband and I also went to Suffragette. It was very uncomfortable seeing the bullying and control in place at that time over women in England. One thing that really stood out for me was when Meryl Streep was urging them (women) to attack the men’s idols – their possessions. I thought this very insightful as women themselves are seen as this by many men even today. Would also recommend to others – a part of history worth knowing.

    Like

    • Christine, thank you very much for that. One of the things that stood out for me was the battle is not yet won, we are still fighting. The prove lies in so many countries where the vote for women is not yet granted, and man made traditions are ruling over basic human rights.

      Like

Comments are closed.